Know about the IPL Winners till date

Indian Premier League (IPL) is the largest domestic cricket league in the world. The thirteenth season of the cash-rich T20 league will begin in April as the world’s best cricketers will unite to play under one team, ignoring their nationalities. During the last 12 seasons, all eight teams have competed heavily within the IPL.

Mumbai Indians is the most victorious team to have won 4 IPL titles so far. The team is therefore loved by most of the cricket fans. Also, talking about IPL winner list, while Mumbai Indians have won the maximum times, Chennai Super Kings succeed with three winning titles.

IPL currently consists of eight teams which includes players from all over the world. To date, twelve winning tournaments have been played till 2019. The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) governs the Indian Premier League for Cricket.


Find below the list of IPL winners of the respective seasons.

Final Match Venue Stadium Winner Team Runner up Team
2008 Mumbai DY Patil Stadium Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings
2009 Johannesburg Wanderers Stadium (South Africa) Deccan Chargers  Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Mumbai DY Patil Stadium Chennai Super Kings  Mumbai Indians
 2011 Chennai M. A. Chidambaram Stadium  Chennai Super Kings  Royal Challengers Bangalore
 2012 Chennai M. A. Chidambaram Stadium  Kolkata Knight Riders  Chennai Super Kings
 2013 Kolkata Eden Gardens  Mumbai Indians  Chennai Super Kings
 2014 Bangalore M. Chinnaswamy Stadium  Kolkata Knight Riders  Kings XI Punjab
 2015 Kolkata Eden Gardens  Mumbai Indians  Chennai Super Kings
 2016 Bangalore M. Chinnaswamy Stadium  Sunrisers Hyderabad  Royal Challengers Bangalore
 2017 Hyderabad Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad  Mumbai Indians  Rising Pune Supergiant
 2018 Mumbai Wankhede Stadium  Chennai Super Kings  Sunrisers Hyderabad
2019 Hyderabad Rajiv Gandhi Stadium  Mumbai Indians  Chennai Super Kings

When Rajasthan Royals were declared as the IPL winners in the inaugural season, they truly gained a tough competitor position. But later, it was the Deccan Chargers who set out against all the odds in flying colors in South Africa. In the next season, Chennai Super Kings were very much ahead in making a hat-trick, but in 2012 the men of Purple and Gold i.e. Kolkata Knight Riders won their first title.

Now, when it comes to individual performances, Virat Kohli has scored the most runs so far in the IPL tournament, while the Sri Lankan player, Lasith Malinga has taken the most wickets in IPL history.

Chennai Super Kings is the only team that missed the most finals (5) of the IPL, and then Royal Challenger Bangalore lost three finals, and therefore, could not win the tournament.

Note: IPL in 2010 was the world’s first sports program to be broadcast online on YouTube. The IPL league is the most-watched cricket league in the world and ranked sixth among all sports leagues in 2014 based on average attendance.

Fans are now eager to know who brags the IPL winner title in the upcoming season. May the best team win. We hope this article was knowledgeable and that you enjoyed reading it!

Show More
Back to top button